Hollywood doesn’t deem it worthy to write movies with female leads. There is no money in it; no one wants to watch a woman save the day, its just not feasible. At least, that’s how I am reading it. With the lack of viable roles for women in movies written for a “mostly male audience”, I decided to do a little experiment. With Joss Whedon being quoted as saying Hollywood gave female superhero films two chances and gave up, I wanted to see how much money is being wasted on male centered films this year alone.

 

All info is from Rotten Tomatoes based on their rating system along with budget info from Wikipedia (which even if it is off slightly, is still helping to prove my point).

A Good Day to Die Hard: This movie oozes testosterone and is the fifth installment in this action driven series. Its budget was 92 million with a RT rating of 14%

Jack the Giant Slayer: Although I never watched this movie, the fact that the main characters name is in the title gives it away as being male-centered. It cost studios 200 million to make and only has a 52% rating on RT.

The Incredible Burt Wonderstone: Never saw this gem either, but again, the main characters name is in the title along with three men on the movie poster. Its budget was 30 million with a RT rating of 36%.

RIPD: This is a newbie that I have no desire to watch, despite the fact that I enjoy Ryan Reynolds comedy. 130 million is what it cost to make this baby and it ended up with an 11% RT rating. This movie is also based on a comic book. I could certainly do another list of movies based on superhero/comic book films but this list so far includes movies from several genres.

The Lone Ranger: As I go down this list, I realize that I haven’t watched any of these films. But, this one has the main character in its title so I’m gunna go on a hunch that the gender of the person doing the majority of the speaking is male. Its budget was 225 million and it only has a RT rating of 27%.

After Earth: Finally! One that I have actually seen! This father and son centered film cost studios 130 million and currently stands at an 11% rating on RT.

 

This is just a small portion of the films that have come out so far this year. Most of them are what I consider to be “big box office movies” because they received a lot of attention in terms of promotion. I have listed films in the comedy, sci-fi, comic book, fantasy and action genres to show that in every genre, women are being left behind. If I had the time, and the patience, I would do more of an in depth investigation, but right now I have very little of either.

Looking at the RT box office chart, out of 50 films listed, less than a handful have female leads. The aforementioned movies that have done so badly have cost, in total, 807 million dollars. If they are so anxious to throw away money, why then is it so hard to make movies with women in them; women who speak and think for themselves and aren’t just there as fillers with tits.

 

 

 

About Mighty Damsels

I am a sick and tired nerd. Male characters have dominated the action/sci-fi/fantasy genres for far too long. No more will women be in distress, cast as the "girlfriend" or made to wear tight leather pants. Ladies! Raise up your swords, M16's, phaser guns and pens! Mightydamsels.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

