This is my 100th posting on this blog! I of course want to thank all of my followers, on wordpress, Facebook and Twitter. You have no idea how happy it makes me when I get a new follower, on any form of social media.

As of writing this post,  have had just over 12, 500 views since I started this blog last June. I have been viewed in countries I have never even heard of and surprisingly have been viewed more times in the US (6,300) than my home country of Canada (1,700). I have received only one hateful comment which I did not publish because it was not constructive in any way. But it should be noted that I have not censored, or plan to censor anyone who disagrees with my views. This blog was started to facilitate a dialogue regarding women in entertainment and I welcome any discussions.

 

Having this blog has helped in shaping my views about feminism and has opened the door to a whole new realm on gender discussion. For instance, before I started this blog, I was blind to the negative views on feminism. I was an optimistic soul who thought that everyone who didn’t opening bash women believed in feminism. I was quickly corrected. I have also discovered a few pockets of the internet (I’m looking at you Reddit) where there are people with opinions polar opposite to my own and who actually wish violent behavior towards women.

As a textile major, we are constantly discussing gender in relation to craft and it has helped having the background knowledge to compliment what I am learning in school. I am currently writing a paper about men in craft, “Gender and Craft: Where Do Men Belong”. I have also taken a gender course, taught by a very open instructor who actually did a whole section on what masculinity is and our societies views on what it means to be a man (some of her views have influenced a few posts I’ve made).

 

Another good thing about this blog is that it has forced me to start writing again. Not only writing fiction, but opinion pieces. This has led me into considering a career in journalism or publishing of some sort.

 

For those of you who will read this that do not have a blog, I recommend you sign up as soon as possible. Even if you don’t consider yourself a writer, it is interesting what you can discover about yourself when you start to compile articles and websites that you enjoy and begin to notice certain patterns.

 

I am always looking for writers or comic book artists so if you know anyone who would like to contribute, please send them the link to this blog. I am thankful to the few that have already contributed and commented in the past and look forward to hearing any other opinions in the future.

mightydamsels@gmail.com

 

Carissa

About Mighty Damsels

I am a sick and tired nerd. Male characters have dominated the action/sci-fi/fantasy genres for far too long. No more will women be in distress, cast as the "girlfriend" or made to wear tight leather pants. Ladies! Raise up your swords, M16's, phaser guns and pens! Mightydamsels.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

