I absolutely loved the first Avengers movie. Joss Whedon is a God who for some reason decided to join the human race and gift us with a plethora of awesome visual masterpieces.

Of course, I must add my two cents about the lack of characters of the female persuasion. Being familiar with the Avengers lineup, I understood that Black Widow would most likely be the only female character in the first installment. I am overjoyed at the bad-ass-ness of Maria Hill whose sexuality was not exploited unlike the Black Widow (despite Whedon’s egalitarian views, there were many an ass shot of Ms. Johansson).

This is why I am adamant that in the next movie, there must be more female characters. True, there have been many different lineup’s of the Avengers over the years and any number of them can lead to different story arcs and villains. But, Ms. Marvel and The Wasp are pretty safe candidates.

My second hope is that if they do include the aforementioned characters, that they will not be defined by their sexuality and/or be immediately paired off with one of the male characters (the Wasp will probably come as a package with Pym…but I can live with that). Romance is certainly an enjoyable aspect of film but I think that Hollywood needs to realize that female viewers, myself included, don’t need that sort of tag line in order to flock to the cinema for the midnight release of The Avengers 2.

About Mighty Damsels

I am a sick and tired nerd. Male characters have dominated the action/sci-fi/fantasy genres for far too long. No more will women be in distress, cast as the "girlfriend" or made to wear tight leather pants. Ladies! Raise up your swords, M16's, phaser guns and pens! Mightydamsels.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

