Halloween is a month away. What will you be wearing?

I always get extremely upset when I walk into a costume shop and see the choices women have for costumes. Skimpy nurse, skimpy cave woman, skimpy cat, and the most irritating, SKIMPY SUPERHERO…….It grates my soul when I see the Super Girl, Iron Woman, Female Robin, Female Captain America/Thor costumes that consist of a tiny cape, a bandeau bra and mini skirt with a male superhero logo stretched across the chest.

My inner nerd gets angry…and you don’t want to see me angry….I get incoherent and people tend to back away when I rant…..

Is this all we have? Are women only allowed to be sexed up for the enjoyment of men who probably blow their wads when they see the female version of their favorite superheros on whom they probably have big man crushes on in the first place?

I just wish there were more options. Where are the Storm ,Rogue or Kitty Pryde costumes in mainstream costume shops (get ready for an offensive image below)? It seems that all that’s out there are skimpy female versions of male superheros.

I actually have never bought a pre-made costume for Halloween…I usually make mine from used clothes and a bit of craft-magic. But, whenever I go in to prop-shops or costume stores around Halloween, I always get that annoyed feeling in my gut.

It further proves that women are meant to be viewed as sex objects. It is certainly up to the woman if she wants to buy the costume or not but the choices she are given are slim. Sexy witch, sexy kitten (SATC quote..) seem to be it.

 

 

In the movie Mean Girls, it is stated that Halloween is “the one night of the year when a girl can dress like a total slut and no other girl can say anything”. Halloween is certainly a night of free expression. The point is to dress up and for one night, be someone/something else. I am not denying a woman’s right to be sexy, or revealing, to each their own. I just find it annoying, and offensive that the only costumes that manufacturers deem worthy for women are revealing, skimpy and “slutty”.

Googling “Halloween costumes for women”, brings about the most disturbing results. I’m sure that someone in gender studies could write a whole dissertation on the subject.  What does it reflect of society when lingerie is deemed appropriate to wear as a costume in public? This is basically what these costumes are; outfits meant to be worn in the privacy of your own home with that special someone (s).

Now of course, I sound like a prude when all I mean to say is that nerdy ladies have poor choices when it comes to dressing up for Halloween.

As a huge fan of the Phoenix, this image causes me to rage. Indeed, she is a female superhero, but her costume has been modified to fit that standard of skimpy, sexy and “slutty”. This actually irks me more than the female versions of male superheros because they took an iconic female character and shit on it, reducing her worth….urgggg….

So, improve my mood and to prove that there are awesome costumes out there for female nerds that cover the essentials, send me your pictures from previous Halloweens and I will post them on the big day!!

About Mighty Damsels

I am a sick and tired nerd. Male characters have dominated the action/sci-fi/fantasy genres for far too long. No more will women be in distress, cast as the "girlfriend" or made to wear tight leather pants. Ladies! Raise up your swords, M16's, phaser guns and pens! Mightydamsels.wordpress.com

One response »

  1. Krista says:

    Argh. Currently frustrated by this ‘sexy superhero ‘ thing. I want to be the Robin to my baby (girl!) as Batman but I don’t want to be running around town looking like a whore with my baby in tow! I am picturing us walking down town to our baby lapsit class with our capes flapping…not boobs jiggling 😦 I am hoping the men’s version will fit

Leave a Reply

