This movie was absolutely amazing. The action, the characters, the story; it was an excellent way to end the trilogy. But of course, I have to mention the lack of female presence. Yes, Catwoman was thrown in to appease fans, but most of them being drooling males anxious to see Anne Hathaway strutting her stuff in black latex.

I guess I never really realized the lack of female characters in this particular series, it wasn’t until I started this blog really that I began to analyze my favorite movies that I saw how few women are represented.

As I said, I love this movie. In no way will I tell people not to see to because of the overabundance of peen. I just want other people to see the trend and voice enough concern to make Hollywood pay attention.

I read a review of The Dark Knight Rises and even then it mentioned the “two women” in the movie. Two! That’s all we got. I don’t want to give away any spoilers but there was a slight redemption in the Miranda character towards the end, making her not so “damsel in distress-y” like she was originally painted to be. Catwoman was badass in her own right, but as mentioned, she was kind of put there to draw even more of a male crowd as an important sex symbol in the Batman world.

Even with the lack of female heroes and villains in the Batman story arcs, there were still plenty of chances to have female characters. There were an overabundance of cops in the movie, but most of them were male. I need to re-watch the movie again to finish my necessary research (every nerd movie I watch at least twice in theatres before making a final judgement…) but during a specific scene where hundreds of cops run into a head on gun fight with the badies, it seemed to me that there were no women present.

Another way they could have had female actors was with the orphanage. It housed all boys, perhaps to contact with Bruce Wayne’s past, but it would have been just as easy to have a co-ed centre so that girls could have showcased their love of Batman.

I found this irked me with Dark Knight with Commissioner Gordon’s son being his only child to have direct contact with Batman. I understand that it may seem as though young boys prefer Batman action figures and girls are supposed to play with Barbie’s, but I think that they are underestimating the amount of young (and old) female fans they have.

I really enjoyed Christopher Nolan’s take on the Batman story arc. All three movies were amazing, the villains exceptionally well portrayed and the action scenes visually spectacular. The only issue, of course, being the lack of female characters, and female actors in general. Anne Hathaway’s Catwoman managed to clear the slate a bit for the previous Rachel’s “damsel in distress” moments in the first two movies with her independent attitude and her ability to come to decisions on her own.

About Mighty Damsels

I am a sick and tired nerd. Male characters have dominated the action/sci-fi/fantasy genres for far too long. No more will women be in distress, cast as the "girlfriend" or made to wear tight leather pants. Ladies! Raise up your swords, M16's, phaser guns and pens! Mightydamsels.wordpress.com

2 responses »

  1. J. says:

    I was actually disappointed in The Dark Knight that Harvey Dent was threatening Gordon’s son and not his daughter. Since Barbara Gordon eventually grows up to be Batgirl, it would have been nice to see her have some interaction with the villain rather than the boy. Even though we would know that we would never see it, it would have been nice to see some framework for Barbara to someday become Batgirl

    • Exactly how I feel. Even if they did nothing with it, it would have been interesting for them to make a reference of some sort. The fact that BOTH kids weren’t in the finale was weird, it was almost as if they didn’t want to get tangled up in a possible Batgirl debate.

Leave a Reply

