Not many people that I have spoken with enjoy the movie Doomsday. I however watched it twice in a row the first time I saw it. I wasn’t sure why I liked it at first; it had been a very long time since I had wanted to rewatch a movie so soon after first seeing it. I guess subconsciously I had latched onto the fact that it was an action movie with a female lead. A female lead that didn’t get romantically involved with a male character and didn’t require rescuing.

Eden Sinclair is a pretty badass lady with a fake eye, a no-nonsense attitude and a toned, appropriately clothed body. She is not only the movie lead, but leading the group chosen to investigate what used to be Scotland in this Apocalyptic thriller.

Acting aside, I thought that this was a very good movie. Certainly it has its flaws, such as one of the first scenes involving a topless, double barrel wielding, bath-taking blonde woman whose breasts were not given to her by the Almighty. The cast includes other women who aren’t afraid to play with the boys, but the cast is mostly men.

A notable female character, Viper, is also pretty awesome. She is unfortunately sexualized which is disappointing but seeing how they handled Eden’s character, is pretty much a given in an action movie to have at least one high heeled boot wearing, mysteriously silent, tongue extending female.

I wish that more action movies had this type of agenda in mind. It makes me sad that this movie didn’t do as well as it should have for reasons I can only speculate on. As mentioned, the acting wasn’t superb but I can only hope that this movie wasn’t over looked because the main character of this movie didn’t need a man to hold her hand or to take her to bed.

About Mighty Damsels

I am a sick and tired nerd. Male characters have dominated the action/sci-fi/fantasy genres for far too long. No more will women be in distress, cast as the "girlfriend" or made to wear tight leather pants. Ladies! Raise up your swords, M16's, phaser guns and pens! Mightydamsels.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

